Septe

Reloading 8.1 as the current 8.1 is corrupted.

2 posts in this topic

Hello,

It started when the pc configurations settings was hijacked.  When I tried to go in and change the boot instructions to change it to the usb drive, clicking the configure screen would set me back to the start screen.  I've tried various searches and their solutions.  At one point, the instructions given to me was bad.  When it rebooted, I found a lot of programs gone or will not work.  The network would not work.  It's a miracle that it boots at all.  I've already backed up my files.  All I want to do now is to reload 8.1 so I can upgrade to Windows 10.  All of the programs I had on there will have to be reloaded.

It's funny but I used to be a pc expert.  It's obvious I haven't kept up.  If anyone can help me, it'd be much appreciated.  I already have the 8.1 usb set up.  It's a matter of trying to get the machine to accept the stick for boot up.

Hello Septe Welcome to the Windows Forums!

By your description of Star screen would that be for the bios screen you first see when then going into the Advanced section in order to change the boot order? Another option for the one time live boot session would be the use of the F key assigned to bring up the boot device menu where you would then select the "USB HHD" option after first pressing the F4, F11, or F12 key a few times right at post in order to see the boot device menu appear.

On some OEM made not custom built pcs you won't find a boot device menu at all or are able to enter into the Bios Setup program itself. The manufacturer has seen to it there are no self help settings but are required to bring it into an authorized service center and get charged for the work! Dell has had a notorious reputation in that regard over the years!